Donald James Wuebbles

Wuebbles, Donald 4051242_23049109 TP

Title: Henry E. Preble Endowed Professor
Company: University of Illinois
Location: Urbana, Illinois, United States

Donald Wuebbles, Henry E. Preble Endowed Professor at the University of Illinois, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Scientists for dedication, achievements, and leadership in atmospheric sciences.

Dr. Wuebbles chose this field because of a combination of being able to work directly with sciences; physics, biology, chemistry, and environmental. With atmospheric studies, Dr. Wuebbles is able to make a difference and help humanity by understanding the complexities in the science. He has held his current role with the University of Illinois since 2009, and originally joined the faculty of the institution in 1994. Prior to that, he worked as a group leader and atmospheric scientist at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. Earlier in his career, he was an atmospheric scientist at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Having been interested in science from an early age, Dr. Wuebbles first earned a Bachelor of Science from the University of Illinois in 1970. He also received a Master of Science from the institution in 1972. Dr. Wuebbles earned a PhD at the University of California, Davis in 1983. He has contributed to more than 500 peer-reviewed professional reports, journal, papers and books. In addition, he has received many awards and accolades during his career, including the receiving the Nobel Peace Prize as part of IPCC, in 2007, the Stratosphere Ozone Award from the EPA in 2005, the Cleveland Abbe Award from the American Meteorological Society in 2014, The 2014 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Award from the American Library Association for the coauthored book Engineering Response to Climate Change in 2015, the 2014 Cozzarelli Prize from the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, the 2015 Stephen Schneider Lecture from the American Geophysical Union the Presidential Forum lecture for the American Meteorological Society in  2017 and the  Bert Bolin Award from the American Geophysical Union in 2018.

For more information, please visit:

Lifetime Achievement

Contact Dr. Wuebbles


Leave a Reply