James “Jim” J. Rhyne, PhD

Title: Research Physicist (Retired)
Location: Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States

James “Jim” J. Rhyne, PhD, Retired Research Physicist, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Scientists for dedication, achievements, and leadership in research.

Dr. Rhyne was encouraged by his parents to pursue science or engineering, which inevitably led him to a concentration in physics. When it came time for him to pursue a formal education, Dr. Rhyne earned a Bachelor of Science in physics from the University of Oklahoma in 1959. He then received a Master of Science in physics from the University of Illinois in 1961. Continuing with his education, he received a Doctor of Philosophy from Iowa State University of Science and Technology in 1965.

Dr. Rhyne began his career as a research scientist at the Naval Ordinance Laboratory in 1965, remaining until 1975. He then became a research physicist with the National Institute of Standards and Technology, remaining until 1990. During those years, he was the first director of the NSF/NIST Center for High-Resolution Neutron Scattering. In 1991, he took on the role of professor of physics at the University of Missouri, Columbia, staying with the university until 2003. He also held the role of a research reactor with the university until 1996.  Later, from 2003 until 2012, Dr. Rhyne was the deputy director of science with the Lujan Neutron Scattering Center at Los Alamos National Laboratory. He then joined the Department of Energy as a program manager from 2013 until 2018. Since 2018, Dr. Rhyne has been a guest scientist with the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Throughout his career, Dr. Rhyne has acquired significant scientific knowledge from working with excellent collaborators, students, and postdoctoral students. In light of his many achievements, Dr. Rhyne has received a Distinguished Career Service Award from the Office of Science at the Department of Energy in 2018, a Department of Commerce Gold Medal Award in 1987, and he was named an Outstanding Referee by the American Physical Society in 2008. Receiving the Doctor Honoris Causa from the University Henri Poincare was a career highlight for Dr. Rhyne. It was a testament to his multitude of research accomplishments throughout his career. An active member of his industry, Dr. Rhyne was chair of the American Physical Society’s Topical Group on Magnetism and the American Physical Society’s Insurance Trust. He also held the position of president of the Neutron Scattering Society of America and is listed in numerous editions of Who’s Who in the World, Who’s Who in the Midwest, Who’s Who in Science and Engineering, and Who’s Who in America.

For more information, please visit:

Press Release

Contact Dr. Rhyne:

Leave a Reply