Bruce E. Maryanoff, Ph.D.

Bruce Maryanoff
©Allure West Studios.

Title: Chief Executive Officer and Chief Science Officer
Company: Absolute Palate LLC
Location: New Hope, Pennsylvania, United States

Bruce E. Maryanoff, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer and Chief Science Officer at Absolute Palate LLC, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Scientists for dedication, achievements, and leadership in industrial chemistry and chemical research.

Intrigued by chemistry since his formative years, Dr. Maryanoff matriculated at Drexel University, receiving a Bachelor of Science in 1969 and a Doctor of Philosophy in organic chemistry in 1972. Shortly thereafter, he completed a postdoctoral fellowship at Princeton University in 1974 before being employed by McNeil Laboratories. In 1978, he accepted the role of principal scientist and, between 1981 and 1987, served as a senior research fellow at McNeil Pharmaceutical’s facility in Spring House, Pennsylvania. Other vocational endeavors to his credit have included as a senior research fellow of the Janssen Research Foundation, distinguished research fellow in the R.W. Johnson Pharmaceutical Research Institute and Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research & Development, visiting investigator at the Scripps Institute-California, distinguished professor at the Baruch S. Blumberg Institute and principal at Maryanoff & Maryanoff LLC. Since 2015, he has excelled as the chief executive officer and chief science officer at Absolute Palate LLC, a coffee company in Hawaii.

Notably, Dr. Maryanoff is renowned as the inventor of the anticonvulsant drug topiramate, and he holds more than 100 U.S. patents and has contributed to more than 280 scientific articles. He is a fellow of the American Chemical Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. As a testament to his success, he has earned numerous accolades, such as two Johnson & Johnson Philip B. Hofmann Research Awards and the Johnson Medal. The American Chemical Society honored him with the 2000 Heroes of Chemistry Award, the 2003 Industrial Chemistry Award, the 2009 Smissman Award and the 2013 Hershberg Award. Additionally, he was inducted into the Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame.

For more information, please visit:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Absolutely! Kona Coffee

Absolute Palate, LLC

Contact Dr. Maryanoff:

Leave a Reply